Post new topic    Reply to topic

markpot
Post subject: Tex Murphy Overseer Graphic Error (Win 8)
Post Posted: Apr 19, 2015 7:01 am
Offline
Joined: Apr 19, 2015 6:51 am
Posts: 5

I install DVD version on Windows 8. When I set some video codec in the settings who not work for me, than i can't see the videos and get a mpeg2 error. But the game works normaly fine.

But when I set Mediamatics DVD Express, i can see the videos in good quality, but the game will not work. It make 2 Displays, 2 Mouse coursers, with wrong graphic colours. I had installed the patch 1.04. Before I install them the game shut down after the Intro-video. And now the game runs, but shows me wrong graphic colours.

Is anybody familiar with this problem and can help me? I will be very fine if anybody knows how to fix this. Or did anytbody have a new patch? I can't install the new german-bastian batch because it's deleted :/

And i also try to play the game in win95 mode, same problem :/ I installed other mpeg codecs, but all of them makes no difference.


Image

  Profile  
 
plumgas
Post subject: Re: Tex Murphy Overseer Graphic Error (Win 8)
Post Posted: Apr 19, 2015 10:40 pm
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Jun 23, 2005 10:52 pm
Posts: 2975
Location: Sydney Australia

are you trying to run overseer with the original dvd disk or the gog version.

some how I think you are trying to run from the original disk which won't work on windows 8. Gog have a dvd version that will run on 64 bit windows but there is no guarantee it will run on your graphic card.

_________________

Lynne
tex murphy is back in town

  Profile  
 
markpot
Post subject: Re: Tex Murphy Overseer Graphic Error (Win 8)
Post Posted: Apr 21, 2015 8:26 am
Offline
Joined: Apr 19, 2015 6:51 am
Posts: 5

I solve the problem. I think my graphic card on my pc is to new. I try it on my windows 7 Laptop and here it works. And also the walking is more fluently than on my win8 pc. (I don't knwo why becuase my win8 pc had a better graphic card than my laptop). On win8 "Lockvideo:-1" don't work and the game crashes. But on the laptop i must set them to -1 so that the game works.

But thanks for your help. Now all works perfect.

  Profile  
 
Chandler
Post subject: Re: Tex Murphy Overseer Graphic Error (Win 8)
Post Posted: Apr 24, 2015 5:33 pm
Offline
Joined: Jun 20, 2012 9:18 pm
Posts: 867

I'm glad you got it working.

Regarding Win8, did you try running the game in Windows 7 or Windows XP Compatibility Mode?

  Profile  
 
markpot
Post subject: Re: Tex Murphy Overseer Graphic Error (Win 8)
Post Posted: May 01, 2015 9:49 am
Offline
Joined: Apr 19, 2015 6:51 am
Posts: 5

Yes, but it shows the same graphic error :/

  Profile  
 
Chandler
Post subject: Re: Tex Murphy Overseer Graphic Error (Win 8)
Post Posted: May 01, 2015 10:47 am
Offline
Joined: Jun 20, 2012 9:18 pm
Posts: 867

yeah, too bad. I just wanted to be sure you had tried it, in case it 'magically' fixed things ;)

  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous: Sort by

Post new topic    Reply to topic
Search for:
All times are UTC - 6 hours

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
cron