Questions about Overseer

I'm new to the series and am just wondering what the deal with Overseer is. Is it a remake or a new game? Also wondering, why it is not considered as good as UAKM or Pandora Directive?
The official first game in the series is called "Mean Streets". It was an old style, very pixelated game using the keyboard (kinda like the early Monkey Island games). The story from that game is being retold as a flashback in Overseer. So it's basically in the same story but with considerably much better graphics and is now a point and click user interface. There's more action and the puzzles are completely different.

One big reason we don't consider it as good as the other games is that it had a much shorter production time compared to the other two games. Since is being told in flashback format, it's linear and not multi-path like Pandora. It's shorter game to play which can seem like a let down after having played the longer games beforehand.

But the #1 reason people hated the game was the cliffhanger ending. Of course it only took them 16 years to finally get around to continuing the story in Tesla Effect so that's all forgiven now. :)
Samantha

Once you start down the dark path, forever will it dominate your destiny.
Good to see you about, Sam!
One Mean, Green-Eyed Fitch.
Another issue with Overseer is that it can be quite a bit harder to get running on modern PCs and OS', particularly the DVD version.

Also, some people had issues with the acting in Overseer. Some loved it, particularly Michael York, but others didn't.
sam10100 wrote:So [Overseer] basically in the same story [as Mean Streets] but with considerably much better graphics and is now a point and click user interface. There's more action and the puzzles are completely different.
More action? Shirley, you gest. They took all of the gun fighting and speeder flying out of it! What action did you mean, Shirley?

Someone else made this observation, and it seems to be true.